White

I believe this to be a Ferugenous hawk. If wrong please correct. It was so far away this is a heavy crop. Someplace in SD last spring.

ferugenous

This entry was posted in animals, Birds, Photography, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to White

  1. HJ says:

    Did you ever get affirmation of what type of hawk it is???

  2. Mark Gallucci says:

    So without knowing what it is, we don’t know if that is its regular coloring?

    • Jan says:

      If ferugenous that is a lighter phase one. They are pretty white. And big hawks anyway but the ones I am used to have a little darker marks.

  3. Julie says:

    Looking at the gape, it does not seem as deep as the Ferruginous Hawks I’ve seen, or seen in the books. But, maybe that is just the angle…? Let me know if you want to post on Hawk ID facebook page that I joined –its a really great resource frequented by hawk experts! Also another thing I was thinking is that white/light coloring can make objects appear bigger…..

    • Jan says:

      Yes, post it. Was in open farm lands with trees in the Black Hills.
      Could be female red tail.

      • Julie says:

        OK great. Do you happen to remember what month….?

      • Jan says:

        It was May 2015

      • Julie says:

        So the verdict from the hawk ID Facebook page is a leucistic or possibly Kriders Red Tailed Hawk. I need to figure out what the differences. People are wondering if there are any more shots of the bird. I’ll send you screenshots from FB tomorrow so you can see what they’re talking about. Do you have any more pics? I got more “likes” from your photo of that bird than from anything I’ve ever posted on my own FB page!

Leave a Reply

