Lets Catch Up!

About a month ago I said “I quit!” donated everything good and put anything sentimental into storage threw the dogs in the van, left snowy Reno Nv  and headed for sunny Az.

Well, turns out it has been pretty grey, chilly and pouring down rain lol. I think I made a wrong turn somewhere and am really on the north Ca coast.

We were mostly boondocking (non paid camping in desert areas). Someone asked me how did I like it and was there hardship. Not at all. I used to camp in wilderness areas for months at a time.  I have backpacked and packed horses for seasons. Packed rafts for weeks of camping. Camping in a van with a stove, a bathroom, a sink and a fridge is luxury! I cannot believe how furtunate I was to get the deal on my van when I did. I am so thankful.  I will have a mail forwarding service and you just visit a laundry or do it the old fashioned way…

However, my brother lives in Az. I came to visit and used his laundry and also have stayed longer than planned but at least I am not fretting about floating away in a flash flood. Besides the food is so good here it was hard to pull me away. Friday (tomorrow) the weather clears and off I go.  More rain to be had but not the every day down pours.

Have you ever camped with 3 wet dogs??? Pretty stinky. Throw in wet horses and you wont be let into any establishments except for the very rural ones. I no longer have pack horses, but I do have a tiny falcon. A male Kestrel. A female has been showing interest in him while here.

More photos less trivial next post. Just wanted to catch everyone up.

pink walk

Walking into the pink side

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Lets Catch Up!

  1. laurenmchen says:

    Thanks for the update! Love hearing about your travels! So jealous! Give the pups a kiss for me!

  2. Tim Torell says:

    Glad your quality of life is pleasing you. Best regards Jantastic

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  3. jdtrumbo@surewest.net says:

    So happy to hear about your adventures on the road. Some people may not understand your adventure, but I get it. Went snow camping last week with a friend up near Tahoe. People ask me… why do you do that? My response? If you have to ask, any answer I give you won’t make sense.

    good for you my friend! love the picture. stay in touch.

    • Jan says:

      WOW, how true is that??? My brother is going running in fresh snow this weekend. I get it. Will be beautiful. Glad snow camping was good. My only complain tnow is it is dark so long I get a little stiff in a tent.

  4. Jan says:

    TiimmY!!!! Miss you are your photos. Love the life…hope you get there soon. I am veeerrrry rusty photo wize.

  5. Maryann says:

    Nice to hear from you Jan, glad all is going well!

  6. Liz Merry says:

    Good for you! What a fun adventure!

  7. Mike Bunker says:

    Hi Jan, What a wonderful lifestyle! Janice and I would live to join you but we a few commitments coming up. Let’s try to get together again this spring or summer here in Montana.

Leave a Reply

